Wyoming Travel Guide

Wyoming Travel Guide

Northern America

Wyoming is one of the least populated states in America. Cheyenne is the largest city in Wyoming and the state capital. With an area of ​​253,336 km², Wyoming is the tenth largest state in the USA in terms of area.

The state of Wyoming in the western United States borders on the states of Montana, South Dakota, Nebraska, Colorado, Utah and Idaho.

Overall, the state stretches from the Great Plains in the west to the Rocky Mountains in the east.

Wyoming’s nickname is ” Equality State ” after the state’s motto: “Equal Rights”. Its name Wyoming comes from the Algonquin Indians and means “Great Plains”.

In 1890 Wyoming became the 44th state of the USA. This state in the USA is best known for being the first state to give women the right to vote in its constitution.

Climate in Wyoming

Wyoming has a semi-arid, continental climate that can come up with all sorts of extremes. It is shaped by several geographical factors that are reflected in different ways in the climatic conditions.

Attractions in Wyoming

Wyoming ‘s most famous attractions are Yellowstone National Park and Grand Teton Park. Families also enjoy visiting the Cheyenne Botanic Gardens.

UNESCO World Heritage Site

Nationalpark Yellowstone

National parks in Wyoming

Nationalpark Yellowstone
Grand Teton Nationalpark

Cities and places of interest in Wyoming

Rock Springs

Universities & Colleges in Wyoming

University of Wyoming in Laramie
Casper College
Central Wyoming College
Eastern Wyoming College
Laramie County Community College
Northwest College
Sheridan College
Western Wyoming Community College
Wyoming Technical Institute

Airports in Wyoming

Jackson Hole Airport / JAC
Casper/Natrona County International Airport / CPR
Gillette-Campbell County Airport / GCC
Yellowstone Regional Airport / COD
Rock Springs-Sweetwater County Airport / RKS

Flüsse & Seen in Wyoming

Bear River
Bighorn River
Gallatin River
Green River
North Platte River
Powder River
Snake River
Yellowstone River

Berge in Wyoming

Gannett Peak
Cloud Peak
Eagle Peak
Grand Teton
Laramie Peak
Mount Moran
Mount Washburn
Absaroka Range
Big Horn Mountains


Yellowstone National Park with Yellowstone River & Yellowstone Volcano

Yellowstone National Park is 96 percent of the area in the state of Wyoming in the United States. With three percent he is in the state of Montana and with one percent in the state of Idaho. It was founded on March 1, 1872, making it the oldest national park in the world. In addition, a law was passed by President Ulysses S. Grant that would forever protect the Yellowstone territory from prospectors, settlers, and trappers. The park was inhabited by Native Americans for over 11,000 years. No Native American groups have lived in the Yellowstone area since the 1880s.

Yellowstone National Park was designated an International Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO on October 26, 1976.

On September 8, 1978 it received the status of UNESCO World Natural Heritage. Historic places include the Obsidian Cliff, the Norris Geyser Basin Museum, Fort Yellowstone, the Fishing Bridge Museum & Visitor Center, the Madison Information Station and the Old Faithfull Inn.

Yellowstone National Park offers many attractions: geysers, hot springs, forests, mountains, lakes, wilderness, wildlife, a deep canyon and a river with multiple falls.

Yellowstone Park was named after the river in the national park, the Yellowstone River. It is approximately 8987 square kilometers in size with warm geysers (3,000), hot springs, fumaroles and mud pots. The north-south extent is about 102 kilometers, the east-west extent about 87 kilometers. This makes it one of the largest national parks in the USA.

The highest point in the park is Eagle Peak, at 12,000 feet (3,462 meters). Wildlife such as grizzly bears, bison and wolves are native to Yellowstone Park.

The national park lies partly in the crater of the Yellowstone volcano with a magma chamber that is around 60 km long, 40 km wide and 10 km thick.
The Yellowstone volcano is one of the supervolcanoes and the largest in the United States. The many geysers are also created by the magma chambers. Particularly popular is the Old Faithful geyser in the upper geyser basin, which spouts water at short intervals (every 60 to 90 minutes).
The largest active geyser in the world is Steamboat Geyser. It is located in Norris Geyser Basin in Yellowstone Park.

The park is located in the middle of the Rocky Mountains on a high plateau at an altitude of approximately 2,440 meters above sea level. All around are mountain ranges (northwest: the Gallatin Range; north: the Beartooth Mountains; east: the Absaroka Range; southeast: the Wind River Range; south: the Teton Range; west: the Madison Range).

There are five entrances to the park.

East Entrance Yellowstone
The east entrance to Yellowstone in Wyoming, and is located 56 miles west of Cody, Wyoming. Wyoming Highway 14/16/20.

Yellowstone National Park South
Entrance The south entrance to Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming is accessible via Highway 191/89/287 North. Grand Teton National Park is just two miles south of Yellowstone Park. If you have paid the entrance fee there, this also applies to Yellowstone National Park.

Yellowstone National Park West Entrance
The west entrance to Yellowstone National Park in Montana and is accessed via Highways 287, 87 or 20.

Yellowstone National Park North Entrance
The north entrance to Yellowstone National Park is in Montana, via Gardiner, Highway 89.

Yellowstone National Park Entrance The northeast entrance to Yellowstone National Park is in Montana, off Highways 212 or 291.

The national park can be divided into five zones (countries). The Mammoth Country in the northwest of the park with thermal springs and limestone terraces. The Roosevelt Country in the Northeast. Canyon Country, to the west of the park, with its waterfalls. The Hayden Valley with its large herds of bison. Lake Country in the Southeast with various lakes (Yellowstone Lake, Heart Lake) and Geyser Country in the Southwest with most geysers (Old Faithful, Steamboat Geyser)

Three rivers originate in Yellowstone National Park: the Yellowstone River, Madison River, and the Snake River.

Particularly worth seeing are the large waterfalls (Lower Falls) on the Yellowstone River and Yellowstone Lake (the largest mountain lake in North America).

Yellowstone National Park offers hiking, day horseback riding (Tower-Roosevelt), canoeing, and boating.

Peak season in Yellowstone National Park is from early May to late October.
Overnight stays in Yellowstone Park include hotels, cabins, and campgrounds.

Park history and other information is available at the Visitor Centers and Information Stations in Mammoth Hot Springs, Canyon Village, Madison, Fishing Bridge, Grant Village, West Thumb, and Old Faithful

The last major wildfire in Yellowstone National Park was in 1988, devastating nearly 1,500 square miles of the park.

The Hanna-Barbera animated series Yogi Bear is set in Jellystone National Park.

Address of attraction:

Yellowstone National Park

Wyoming Travel Guide