Politics of Barbados

State Structure and Political System of Barbados

Under the 1966 Constitution, the “Westminster model” of the organization of the political system (see Antigua and Barbuda), parliamentary democracy, operates. Administratively, Barbados is divided into 11 parishes. The largest cities are Bridgetown, Speightstown, Oistins. Local government abolished in 1969. British dominion. The head of state is the Queen, represented by the Governor General (since […]

Continue Reading