José Cecilio del Valle

Honduras Literature

Middle America

José Cecilio del Valle (1780-1834), who authored the Central America Constitution of 1821, also wrote patriotic poems, while José Trinidad Reyes (1797-1855) is known for his political satires and folk comedies. The main representative of the romance was the politically radical Manuel Molina Vigil (1853–83). The main figures of the “Modernista” movement were the pessimistic lyricist Juan Ramón Molina (1875-1908) and Froylán Turcios (1875-1943), among others. known for their Cuentos de amor y de muerte (1930). Alfonso Guillén Zelaya (1888–1947) and Rafael Heliodoro Valle (1891–1959) sought in their lyrics back to a simpler style.

José Cecilio del Valle

Arturo Mejía Nieto, with his revolutionary novels and poetry, is a major exponent of avant-garde literature that emerged after the First World War. The political novel was also cultivated by Carlos Izaguirre. Among the lyricists of the same period should be mentioned Clementina Suárez, Claudio Barrera, Daniel Laínez and Jacobo Cárcamo. New lyricists from the post-World War II period are Carlos Manuel Arita, David Mova Posas (1929–71), Pompeyo del Valle (b. 1929) and Óscar Acosta (b. 1933). The more recent social novel is represented by Marcos Carías Reyes (1905–49) and Ramón Amaya Amador (1916–66), while Víctor Cáceres Lara is known for his short story collection Humus (1952).

A more recent literary group is the so-called post avant-garde, some of its representatives being César Lazo (b. 1954), Jorge Luis Oviedo (b. 1957), Mercy Lozano Dacarett (b. 1958) and Guillermo Fiallos Aguilar (b. 1959).